The Goods Shed
Community Centre & Park
The Goods shed is a part of the Armidale Railway station. Opened in 1883, the Railway Goods Yard has had over 140 years worth of history. Now, it is an abandoned space, left unused since 2019.
Due to the open spaces and history within this abandoned area, it only seems appropriate to give this site a new life. This reinvigorated project aims to promote creative thinking, create a relaxing environment, encourage outdoor exploration and activity, and make a fun and unique space for the entire community. Targeting nearby residences, family groups, and leisure seekers.
Offering Takeaway & Indoor Cafe, Library & Reading Nook, Varied seating areas, Info kiosk about the area and history, Gallery space and office, M+F toilets, Car parking, Open area for recreation, Garden and walk, Grassed picnic area, Communal veggie and fruit garden.
The idea behind ‘The Good Shed’ name and logo was based on a concept of utilitarianism influenced by historical site references. The original name of the site was “The Railway Goods Yards”, however, the name was too long for this application. The Goods Shed was used instead as it was the name of the main building on-site and is easy to remember.
The typeface was inspired by original signage found at the Armidale railway station. By using this typeface within the logotype, it enabled the design to embody its original roots and railway heritage.